This family walk winds through the streets of Dole, a town of art and history, to discover the architectural and historical heritage of the former capital of Franche-Comté. It starts at the Tourist Office, on the Place Jules-Grévy, a famous Jurassian who was President of the Republic, and winds through the streets of Dole, a town of art and history.
After a departure from the Dole Tourist Office located on the Place Jules-Grévy, a famous Jurassian who was President of the Republic.
Pass in front of the Sub-Prefecture, then the Visitation, before joining the rue du Collège de l'Arc, lined with beautiful private mansions and the arch built in 1607 to link the school buildings. On the Place aux Fleurs, two works of art are worth a look: "L'enfant à l'amphore" by Rosset and the bronze "Commères" sculpted by Boettcher.
After the Richardot-Boyvin and Rigollier de Parcey hotels, the Fontaine d'Arans is opposite the Musée des Beaux-Arts, which is a must-see. At no. 7 rue Pointelin, the bunches of grapes adorning the doorway are a reminder that wine-growing once existed in Dole.
The old Hôtel-Dieu, the Grande Rue and the collegiate church of Notre-Dame invite you to stroll around, before taking a staircase and heading towards the Canal des Tanneurs. Part of the Chevannes garden has been converted into a medicinal plant garden.
Return to the starting point via the house where Pasteur was born, then the house of the author of the Tales of the Perched Cat (Marcel Aymé) and the Cour Saint Mauris garden, which is a good place to extend the walk.