
Eglise Saint Martin
The church of Vaux en Bugey was founded by the abbey of St Rambert en Bugey, to which it belonged until the French Revolution.
It remained without a steeple for a long time, until 1826, when it collapsed significantly.
The church was rebuilt in 1827 thanks to subscriptions.
The original stained glass windows were replaced in 1879, bringing a lovely, colourful light to the interior of the building.
The murals in the choir, depicting the Last Supper and the multiplication of the loaves, painted in 1846, were covered up during restoration work in 1979 and are no longer visible today.
There are two paintings in the choir: Saint Mary Magdalene, the Virgin and Child (17th century) and the Adoration of the Magi and St Clair (17th century).
From the bays to the chapels, you can discover statues with protective virtues: Saint Sebastian in gilded wood from the 17th century and pretty cherubs from the 18th century.
In the heart of a beautiful village, the church is full of surprising little treasures. It remains a must-see, along with the chapel of Nièvre, which looks down on it from the heights.
- French
From 01/01/2025 to 31/12/2025 of 10:00 to 18:00